Campaign for a United Nations
Parliamentary Assembly


Join us at Facebook

Campaign News

05 May 2009

Committee for a World Parliament joins global campaign
Olivier Giscard d'Estaing
Image: WFC

The Committee for a World Parliament (COPAM), based in Paris, has joined the Campaign for the Establishment of a United Nations Parliamentary Assembly (CEUNPA). The decision followed on a meeting of COPAM President, Olivier Giscard d'Estaing (in the picture), and the Head of the CEUNPA Secretariat, Andreas Bummel, in Paris. COPAM was established in 1995 in order to build support for the creation of a world parliament. The organization's Honorary Committee includes over 20 personalities, most of whom are former heads of state or government. COPAM and the CEUNPA Secretariat agreed on collaborating in specific areas. "The objective to create a world parliament is demanding and complex. However, I believe that eventually it will be achieved. Still, to make this possible, it is important that all like-minded institutions, groups and individuals in the world work together and coordinate their activities. That's one of the purposes of the Campaign for the Establishment of a UN Parliamentary Assembly. We are therefore pleased to join this network," Mr Giscard d'Estaing stated. "Regarding the details of the proposal I would like to highlight that from our point of view future delegates of a global parliamentary assembly initially could be appointed by national parliaments. However, we believe that the delegates do not necessarily need to be elected MPs themselves. The cumulation of the global mandate with another parliamentary mandate at the national level would be to the disadvantage of the former," Mr Giscard d'Estaing added.

Among the personalities who supported COPAM are Andreas van Agt, former Prime Minister of the Netherlands, Jacques Delors, former President of the European Commission, Sonia Gandhi, President of the Congress Party of India, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, former President of France, Felipe Gonzalez, former President of Spain, Nelson Mandela, former President of South Africa, Shimon Peres, former Prime Minister of Israel, Mario Soares, former President of Portugal and Gaston Thorn, former Prime Minister of Luxemburg.

Tags: France, India, Israel, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Spain

The above text is published under this BY-ND Creative Commons licence. Republication is only permitted with attribution to the orignal source and following the licence guidelines. No images on the site or in articles may be re-used without permission of the copyright holder or unless specifically licensed under Creative Commons as well.



News updates

Receive news and updates regularly via email

Subscribe here

Selected Coverage

10/29/2014 | A World Parliament and the Transition from International Law to World Law, Cadmus Journal. Read

10/27/2014 | Umuryango Nyarwanda utegamiye kuri Leta CDN urifuza ko UN yahinduka, Kigali Today. Read

11/06/2013 | Now is the time: The EU should support a UN Parliamentary Assembly, EurActiv. Read

10/28/2013 | UN expert on democracy highlights importance of free expression, information, UN News Centre. Read

Further coverage

Print version

© 2016 Campaign for the Establishment of a United Nations Parliamentary Assembly
Campaign Secretariat: Committee for a Democratic U.N. | Disclaimer