The creation of a UN Parliamentary Assembly is supported by a broad range of individuals and institutions from more than 150 countries.

Individual supporters include politicians, former UN officials, distinguished scholars, cultural innovators, representatives of civil society organizations, and many committed citizens from all walks of life.

In particular, 670 current and 866 former members of parliament across principal party lines have endorsed the campaign to date. The sitting MPs represent an estimated 119 million people. Supporters also include current and former heads of state, foreign ministers, Nobel laureates, and over 400 professors, including from world-leading universities.

Institutions that have expressed support include numerous civil society organizations, parliaments, international parliamentary assemblies and party networks. For instance, the Pan-African Parliament, the European Parliament, the Latin-American Parliament and the Parliament of Mercosur have adopted resolutions – as have the Socialist International, the Liberal International, or the Green World Congress.

An international survey conducted in 2004/5 in 18 countries showed an average support of 63% while only 20% opposed.


The time is right to put into practice the principle "That which concerns everyone must be decided by everyone." The Security Council – with the five permanent members’ power of veto – more often than not serves only to block decisions adverse to those five, or even only one of them. Where really is democracy in the world today? We need a World Parliament which effectively represents all the peoples of the Earth.


Mario Capanna, Italian politician and writer, President of the Genetic Rights Foundation in Rome, 2010


Members of Parliament

from 122 countries endorse the campaign (current and former)

Latest supporters

David Draper, Canada — Josef Gosch, Austria — Paul Arthur, Ghana — Samir Kumar Das, India — Bela Materna, Germany — Thomas Ndindjock, Cameroon — John Oliver, Canada — Aaron DeVries, Canada — Betshy Paola Marrugo, United Kingdom — Daniel Perry, United Kingdom

Show list of supporters

Support by elected representatives

Yes, I endorse the campaign


Donate online securely via PayPal. Various credit cards and other payment methods are possible in most countries.

paypal logo